What are the feast days in the Bible?

What are the feast days in the Bible?

Leviticus 23 describes the Sabbath together with seven feasts, namely the Feast of Passover, the Feast of Unleavened Bread, the Feast of Firstfruits, the Feast of the Harvest, the Feast of Trumpets, the Day of Atonement and the Feast of Tabernacles.

What are the 7 Jewish feast days?

Leviticus 23 lists these seven feasts in order of their seasonal observance: Passover, Unleavened Bread, First Fruits, Pentecost, Trumpets, Day of Atonement, and Booths or Tabernacles.

What are the three feast days?

These three feasts are: Pesah (Passover, The Feast o Unleavened Bread), Shavuot (The Feast of Weeks), and Sukkot (The Feast of Booths).

Do Jews still celebrate the Feast of Weeks?

READ ALSO:   How do you take candid photos?

“Weeks”), commonly known in English as the Feast of Weeks, is a Jewish holiday that occurs on the sixth day of the Hebrew month of Sivan (it may fall between May 15 and June 14 on the Gregorian calendar)….Shavuot.

Also called English: “Feast of Weeks”
Observed by Jews and Samaritan
Type Jewish, Samaritan

What are the 12 major feasts in the Orthodox Church?


  • Nativity of the Theotokos.
  • Exaltation of the Holy Cross.
  • Presentation of the Theotokos.
  • Nativity of the Lord.
  • Theophany (Baptism of the Lord)
  • Presentation of the Lord.
  • Annunciation.
  • Entry into Jerusalem (Palm Sunday)

What are feast days in Orthodox Church?

There are two types of feasts in the Orthodox Church calendar: fixed and movable. Fixed feasts occur on the same calendar day every year, whereas movable feasts change each year. The moveable feasts are generally relative to Pascha (Easter), and so the cycle of moveable feasts is referred to as the Paschal cycle.

READ ALSO:   How can I make my introduction more effective?

How many days is the feast of Pentecost?

50 days
The term Pentecost comes from the Greek Πεντηκοστή (Pentēkostē) meaning “fiftieth”. It refers to the Jewish festival celebrated on the fiftieth day after First Fruits, also known as the “Feast of Weeks” and the “Feast of 50 days” in rabbinic tradition.